Coples named first-team All-ACC

Seven University of North Carolina football players have been named to the 2010 All-Atlantic Coast Conference teams as selected by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA).
Defensive tackle Quinton Coples earned first-team honors, while offensive guard Jonathan Cooper and linebacker Bruce Carter were named to the second team.
Wide receiver Dwight Jones, tailback Johnny White, place-kicker Casey Barth and quarterback T.J. Yates were named honorable mention.

Article Continues Below
A native of Kinston, N.C., Coples is the only defensive tackle in the league in the top 10 in both sacks (8.5) and tackles for losses (14.0). He also ranks fourth on the team with 53 tackles and has 10 quarterback pressures.
Carter, a senior from Havelock, N.C., was recently named one of five finalists for the Butkus Award, which is presented to the nation's top linebacker.
This season he posted 57 tackles, blocked a punt and picked off a pass. Cooper, a sophomore from Wilmington, N.C., was Carolina's top performing offensive lineman. He started every game and graded out at 84 percent.
Yates ranks second in the league in all three major quarterbacking categories, including passing yards, pass efficiency and total offense.
The Marietta, Ga., native also led the league with a 67.6 percent completion rate. Yates finished the regular season completing 259 of 383 attempts for 3,184 yards and 18 touchdowns.
Jones, a native of Burlington, N.C., ranked fourth in the league with 74.6 yards per game. After posting 104 yards in the first five games of the season, he finished with 895 yards on 57 catches.
Despite missing the last three regular season games with an fractured clavicle, White led the Tar Heels with 720 yards rushing, an average of 80.0 per game.
White, a native of Asheville, N.C., averaged 112.0 all-purpose yards, which ranked fifth in the ACC.
Barth, a former teammate of Cooper at Wilmington's Hoggard High School, has converted 16 of 19 field goal attempts this season, including a long of 49.
He has made all 35 extra point attempts this season and is the current school record-holder with 68 consecutive extra points made.