Zeller, Barnes share MVP

CHAPEL HILL - Junior forward Tyler Zeller was named co-Most Valuable Player and won the team's top defensive award and freshman forward Harrison Barnes also was named co-MVP at the University of North Carolina men's basketball team's annual awards ceremony.
Zeller also was named a captain, received the Athletic Director's Burgess McSwain Scholar-Athlete Award and won the Mary Frances Andrews Award for the highest field goal percentage and the Martha Jordan Award for the highest free throw percentage.
Zeller averaged 15.7 points and 7.2 rebounds and was named Carolina's top defensive player based on coaches' grades in a team-high 11 games (no other player won the award more than four times).

Article Continues Below
The Washington (Ind.) native shot 54.7 percent from the floor and 76.3 percent from the free throw line.
Barnes averaged 15.7 points and 5.8 rebounds and led the Tar Heels with 67 three-point field goals. He made the go-ahead or game-winning baskets in seven different contests and was UNC's top scorer in 11 of the last 17 ACC games.
Graduate student Justin Knox and junior forward Justin Watts joined Zeller as the team's permanent captains.
Watts also won the Foy Roberson Award, given to the player who contributes the most behind the scenes and in practice.
Sophomore forward John Henson won the Jimmie Dempsey Award, given to the team's most improved player.
Henson averaged 11.7 points and 10.1 rebounds and led the ACC with 118 blocked shots as a sophomore - he averaged 5.7 points and 4.4 rebounds and blocked 60 shots as a freshman. Henson also won the Oscar Vatz Award as the team's top rebounder.
Point guard Kendall Marshall won the John Lotz Award for most assists (230) and the Butch Bennett Award, which is given to the freshman who best exemplifies determination, sportsmanship and sacrifice for the good of the team.
Knox and senior walk-ons Daniel Bolick, Van Hatchell and D.J. Johnston were honored.