Hansbrough earns unanimous All-ACC

Chapel Hill - Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina's All-America forward, has earned unanimous first-team All-Atlantic Coast Conference honors for the third consecutive year, joining NC State's David Thompson and Duke's Art Heyman as the only players in the 55-year history of the ACC to accomplish that feat.
Hansbrough, who leads the league in scoring and rebounding and led the Tar Heels to the regular-season title, earned first-team votes from all 90 voters from the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. Thompson was a unanimous first-team selection in 1973, 1974 and 1975; Heyman was a unanimous pick in 1961, 1962 and 1963.
"I have tremendous respect for what David Thompson and Art Heyman meant to the ACC and their respective programs and for Tyler to join them as the only three-time unanimous selections underscores what a uniquely special player he is," says Carolina head coach Roy Williams. "I am happy for Wayne and Marcus, because they have earned this recognition with their outstanding play, but I am disappointed for Ty Lawson. He is one of the top players in our league and his play has demonstrated that, but I do understand he missed half the conference schedule."
Sophomore guard Wayne Ellington earned second-team honors (eighth-most votes) and sophomore point guard Ty Lawson was an honorable mention selection after missing six conference games in February due to injury.
Junior forward/guard Marcus Ginyard earned All-Defensive Team honors. Hansbrough was an honorable mention choice for the defensive team. Hansbrough and Virginia guard Sean Singletary are the 24th and 25th players to earn first-team All-ACC honors three times.
Hansbrough is the eighth Tar Heel to make the first team for the third straight year (no player has ever been selected first team four times), joining a list that includes Lennie Rosenbluth (1955-57), York Larese (1959-61), Billy Cunningham (1963-65), Charles Scott (1968-70), Phil Ford (1976-78), Sam Perkins (1982-84) and Antawn Jamison (1996-98).