Marshall wins Cousy Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame today announced that Kendall Marshall from the University of North Carolina is the winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award.
This annual honor is given to college basketball's top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtics guard Bob Cousy.
An original list, consisting of 60-plus candidates from around the country, was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally based committee to 20, down to 11 and a final five before voting on the winner of one of college basketball's most prestigious awards.
"The Hall of Fame is proud to present one of college basketball's premier awards to Kendall Marshall from the University of North Carolina," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "All season Kendall exemplified the type of leadership that Bob Cousy demonstrated throughout his Hall of Fame career, and we are honored to add him to the prestigious list of previous collegiate floor generals who elevated their teammates every time them stepped on the court."
"We are privileged to honor Kendall Marshall for his tremendous season," said Ken Kaufman, Chairman of the Bob Cousy Award and former NABC President. "This young man was an outstanding point guard for the Tar Heels all year. We look forward to honoring Kendall in New Orleans on April 2nd."
Marshall is the third Tar Heel to win the Bob Cousy Award. Raymond Felton won the award as a junior in 2005 and Ty Lawson won the award as a junior in 2009.
Marshall, a sophomore from Dumfries, Va., led the Tar Heels to a No. 4 national ranking and a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament. He led the nation in assists and assist-error ratio and was second in assists per game. Prior to fracturing his right wrist in the third round of the NCAA Tournament, he set an ACC record 351 assists, the fourth-most in NCAA single-season history.
Marshall also became Carolina's all-time leader in assist average with 7.96 per game and the ACC's career leader in assist-error ratio at 3.01. He set an ACC single-season record with 17 double-figure assist games, holds five of UNC's top eight all-time single-game assist totals and set an ACC Tournament record with 31 assists in three games.
He also earned first-team All-America honors from, third-team All-America honors from the Associated Press and was named a second-team All-ACC selection.
"Kendall had one of the finest season-long performances by a point guard that I can remember, so it is fitting for him to win the Bob Cousy Award," said North Carolina head coach Roy Williams, a 2007 Basketball Hall of Fame inductee.
"He made it almost routine to have a game with 10 or more assists, something that just doesn't happen on a regular basis. He is a coach's dream - the way he runs the team on the floor, exemplifies great leadership and makes each of his teammates better. He set standards that will be hard for college point guards to match in years to come."
The other 2012 finalists included Isaiah Canaan (Murray State), Matthew Dellavedova (Saint Mary's), Damian Lillard (Weber State) and Tyshawn Taylor (Kansas).
Each of the final five candidates was reviewed by the Hall of Fame's Blue Ribbon Selection Committee. The 2012 Bob Cousy Award presentation will be at Noon Eastern on Monday, April 2, as part of the Basketball Hall of Fame Class Announcement at the Final Four in New Orleans.
Previous Winners of the Bob Cousy Award
2004 Jameer Nelson St. Joseph's
2005 Raymond Felton North Carolina
2006 Dee Brown Illinois
2007 Acie Law Texas A&M
2008 D.J. Augustin Texas
2009 Ty Lawson North Carolina
2010 Greivis Vasquez Maryland
2011 Kemba Walker Connecticut