Thompson named MVP

CHAPEL HILL - Senior forward Deon Thompson received the Most Valuable Player award and fifth-year senior Marcus Ginyard became the third Tar Heel to win defensive player of the year honors three times at the 2010 University of North Carolina men's basketball awards ceremony held Wednesday evening at the Carolina Club.
Thompson was Carolina's leading scorer and second-leading rebounder, was fifth in the Atlantic Coast Conference in field goal percentage and set an NCAA career record by playing in 152 games.
Ginyard, who was named permanent co-captain with Thompson, joins Derrick Phelps (1992-94) and Brendan Haywood (1999-2001) as the only Tar Heels to win a third defensive player of the year award.
Ginyard also won the defensive award in 2007 and 2008.
The awards ceremony featured speeches by Carolina's six seniors: James Gallagher of Atlanta, Ga.; Terrence Petree of Winston-Salem; Thomas Thornton of Greensboro; Marc Campbell of Raleigh; Ginyard (Alexandria, Va.); and Thompson (Torrance, Calif.).
Other award winners included Tyler Zeller (Athletic Director's Burgess McSwain Scholar-Athlete Award), Ed Davis (highest field goal percentage and best rebounder), Larry Drew II (most assists), Will Graves (highest free throw percentage), Justin Watts (most inspirational player), Travis Wear (freshman who best exemplifies determination, sportsmanship and sacrifice) and John Henson (most improved).